هيئة التدريس و موظفي قسم البحوث

  • فيل دافتي
    فيل دافتي نائب مدير عام بالإنابة ومدير إدارة قسم البحوث والتحليل إقرأ المزيد
    +

    فيل دافتي

    نائب مدير عام بالإنابة ومدير إدارة قسم البحوث والتحليل

    يشغل فيل دافتي منصب نائب مدير عام أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية بالإنابة ومدير إدارة قسم البحوث والتحليل في الأكاديمية. وهو يتمتع بخبرة واسعة في العمل مع مختلف الحكومات بشأن مختلف مسائل السياسة الدولية والمحلية.

    وخلال عمله الوثيق مع قادة الحكومات، شغل مجموعة من الوظائف الحكومية في آسيا والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا. كما عمل في وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كمستشار أول، وكان قد سبق له العمل في مكتب مجلس الوزراء بالمملكة المتحدة كرئيسا للأركان لوزير مكتب مجلس الوزراء، وفي وزارة المالية وإدارة الطاقة وتغير المناخ.

    وقبل انضمامه إلى الأكاديمية، تولى قيادة مشروع في شرق آسيا لصالح توني بلير أسوشيتس. كما قام بمهام قصيرة الأجل كخبير خارجي لدى صندوق النقد الدولي، وتقديم المشورة للحكومتين البرتغالية واليونانية.

    درس دافتي في جامعة هارفارد بموجب منحة من مؤسسة كنيدي، وهو حاصل على شهادة الماجستير في الدراسات الانثروبولوجيا والتنمية من كلية لندن للاقتصاد، في المملكة المتحدة.

    عرض التفاصيل و المنشورات
  • +

    الدكتور نارايانابا جاناردان

    زميل أبحاث أول

    الدكتور نارايانابا جاناردان هو زميل أبحاث أول ضمن برنامج آسيا في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية. يملك جاناردان ما يقارب من 25 عاماً من الخبرة الإقليمية، وهو مختص بتحليل الشراكات الناشئة متعددة الأطراف بين دول الخليج وآسيا. كما ينخرط الدكتور جاناردان في برنامج الماجستير الذي تقدمه الأكاديمية، عبر تقديم محاضرات في مجال السياسات الخارجية الآسيوية. هذا وتشمل اهتماماته واسعة النطاق السياسة والعلاقات الدولية والإعلام والهجرة والاتجار بالبشر.

    وقدم الدكتور جاناردان مجموعة من المنشورات الأكاديمية المتخصصة، تشمل: "توجه الخليج العربي نحو آسيا: من شراكة التعاملات إلى الشراكات الاستراتيجية (الصادر عام 2020)" و"بنية أمنية خليجية جديدة: آفاق وتحديات الدور الآسيوي (الصادر عام 2014)"، و"الهند والخليج: ماذا بعد؟" (الصادر عن مركز أبحاث الخليج كامبريدج، 2013)"، و"عوامل الازدهار في ظل المأساة: روح الإصرار في القرن الحادي والعشرين (الصادر عام 2011)".

    الدكتور جاناردان هو مساعد مدير التحرير لمجلة الدراسات العربية (روتليدج).

    وقبيل ذلك، عمل كمحلل سياسي في عدد من المؤسسات الحكومية والخاصة في دولة الإمارات بما ذلك وزارة الدولة لشؤون المجلس الوطني الاتحادي، ومركز الخليج للأبحاث، وصحيفة "ذا غلف توداي"، و"ذا آيجيان إيج" في الهند.

    يحمل جاناردان شهادة الدكتوراه من جامعة جواهرلال نهرو، نيودلهي، ويشارك بشكل مستمر في المؤتمرات ولديه الكثير المساهمات مع المراكز البحثية والمداخلات الإعلامية على مستوى آسيا، أوروبا والولايات المتحدة.

    كما يمتلك الدكتور جاناردان شغفاً كبيراً في ممارسة الرياضة.

    عرض التفاصيل و المنشورات
  • +

    سارة كاظم

    مسؤولة بحوث وتحليل

    سارة كاظم هي مسؤولة البحوث والتحليل في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، وهي المسؤولة عن تنسيق أنشطة القسم والعلاقات الخارجية مع الجهات المعنية. كما أنها تساهم بشكل منتظم في أنشطة البحوث التي تقوم بها الأكاديمية.

    وقد عملت سارة سابقاً كمساعد باحث في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مع التركيز على الموضوعات المتعلقة بالهوية الإماراتية والمجتمع. وهي تحمل شهادة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

    عرض التفاصيل و المنشورات
  • +

    زكريا سلمان

    مترجِم

    يعمل زكريا سلمان مترجماً في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية. وهو يترجم جميع منشورات قسم البحوث والتحليل، فضلاً عن المراسلات بين الأكاديمية والجهات المعنية، من اللغة الإنجليزية إلى العربية وبالعكس.

    يتمتع سلمان بخبرة 10 سنوات في الترجمة والترجمة الفورية، وهو عضو في العديد من جمعيات الترجمة المهنية.

    وقبل انضمامه إلى أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، عمل سلمان في المقر العام للقوات المسلحة الإماراتية، كمترجم لمدير التدريب خلال اجتماعات رفيعة المستوى. وخلال هذه الفترة، قام بترجمة وتحرير عدة كتب عن التدريب العسكري والتطوير المهني.

    يحمل سلمان درجة البكالوريوس في اللغة الإنجليزية وآدابها من كلية اللغات الحديثة والترجمة في جامعة عين شمس في مصر، ويسعى حالياً للحصول على شهادة في القانون.

    عرض التفاصيل و المنشورات
  • +

    أولريك بيرك بيترسن

    زميل أبحاث أول

    عرض التفاصيل و المنشورات

Research Faculty & Staff

  • Phil Dufty
    Phil Dufty Director of Research and Analysis Department View More
    +

    Phil Dufty

    Director of Research and Analysis Department

    Phil Dufty is Acting Deputy Director General and Director of Research and Analysis at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy (EDA), Abu Dhabi. He has extensive experience working with a variety of governments on both international and domestic policy matters.

    Working closely with government leaders, he has taken on a wide range of roles, including Chief of Staff, Senior Advisor and Consultant for governments in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. He worked in the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (MoFAIC) as a senior advisor, and previously in the UK’s Cabinet Office, Treasury (Finance Ministry) and Department of Energy and Climate Change.

    Prior to joining the EDA, he led a project in East Asia for Tony Blair Associates. He has also conducted short-term assignments as an external expert with the International Monetary Fund, advising the Portuguese and Greek governments.

    Phil Duffy was a Kennedy Scholar at Harvard University and earned his Master’s in Anthropology and Development Studies from the London School of Economics, UK.

    View Details and Publications
  • +

    Dr N. Janardhan

    Senior Research Fellow

    Dr N. Janardhan is Senior Research Fellow, Asia Programme, at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy. With nearly 25 years of regional expertise, he analyses and unravels the evolving multi-dimensional partnerships between the countries of the Gulf and Asia. In addition, he offers diplomats a MA course on Asian foreign policies. His broad-based interests span politics, international relations, security, media, migration and human trafficking.

    His academic publications include ‘The Arab Gulf’s Pivot to Asia: From Transactional to Strategic Partnerships (ed., Gerlach, 2020); ‘A New Gulf Security Architecture: Prospects and Challenges for an Asian Role’ (ed., Gerlach, 2014); ‘India and the Gulf: What Next?’ (ed., Gulf Research Center Cambridge, 2013); and ‘Boom amid Gloom: Spirit of Possibility in the 21st Century Gulf’ (Ithaca, 2011).

    Dr Janardhan is Managing Assistant Editor of the ‘Journal of Arabian Studies’ (Routledge).

    In his previous stints, he has served as a political analyst in government and private institutions in the United Arab Emirates – the Ministry of State for Federal National Council Affairs, the Gulf Research Center and ‘The Gulf Today’ – and ‘The Asian Age’ in India.

    With a PhD from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, Dr Janardhan is a frequent speaker at conferences and contributes regularly to various think tanks and media outlets in Asia, Europe and the United States.

    He is also an avid sportsperson!

    View Details and Publications
  • Sara Kazim
    Sara Kazim Research and Analysis Supervisor View More
    +

    Sara Kazim

    Research and Analysis Supervisor

    Sara Kazim is Research and Analysis Supervisor at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy, responsible for the coordination of the Department’s activities and external stakeholder relations. She also regularly contributes to EDA’s research activities.   

    Previously, she worked as Research Assistant at United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) with a focus on topics related to Emirati identity and society.

    She graduated with a BA in Political Science from UAEU.

    View Details and Publications
  • +

    Zakareya M. Salman

    Translator

    Zakareya M. Salman is Translator at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy. He translates all publications of the Research and Analysis Department as well as EDA-wide communications with stakeholders from English to Arabic and vice versa.

    Mr Salman has 10 years of experience in translation and interpreting, and is a member of several professional translation associations.

    Before joining EDA, Mr Salman worked at the General Headquarters of the UAE Armed Forces, including acting as an interpreter for the Director of Training and interpreting at high-level meetings. During this time, he translated and edited several books on military training and professional development.

    Mr Salman has a bachelor’s degree in English Language and Literature from the Faculty of Modern Languages and Translation at Ain Shams University in Egypt, and is currently pursuing a degree in law.

    View Details and Publications
  • Ulrik Birk-Petersen
    Ulrik Birk-Petersen Senior Research Fellow View More
    +

    Ulrik Birk-Petersen

    Senior Research Fellow

    Ulrik Birk-Petersen is a Senior Research Fellow at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy (EDA), where he leads the Academy’s 21st Century Diplomacy Programme. The programme examines diplomatic best practices as well as skills, competencies and training required by a new generation of diplomats.

    Prior to joining EDA, Ulrik Birk-Petersen worked as a management consultant for McKinsey & Co. in Dubai. Before joining McKinsey, he worked as a diplomat with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark in different roles, including a posting to the Royal Danish Embassy in Moscow. Prior to joining the Danish Foreign Service, Ulrik Birk-Petersen served with the World Bank in Washington, DC, and with the European Union in West Africa.

    While pursuing his studies in Copenhagen, he worked as political secretary to a party leader in the Danish Parliament. His experience also includes working as a researcher with the Brookings Institution in Washington, DC.

    Ulrik Birk-Petersen was a Crown Prince Frederik Scholar at the Harvard Kennedy School from where he graduated with a Master in Public Administration. He received his BA in Political Science from the University of Copenhagen.

    View Details and Publications