الدكتور ستيفن لي كيك

أستاذ التاريخ في الأكاديمية

الدكتور ستيفن لي كيك، هو أستاذ في التاريخ لدى أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، حيث يقوم بتدريس مواد تستكشف التاريخ العالمي الحديث، والتي تمحورت في الفترة الأخيرة على القيادة الأوروبية في القرن العشرين، وبروز الصين كقوة عالمية عظمى، ونهاية الإمبراطورية العثمانية. وفي العام الدراسي 2020-2021، سيحاضر الدكتور كيك بمادتين دراسيتين تحملان عنوان: "الأمراض، الكوارث والدبلوماسية"، و"الدبلوماسية الثقافية: كيف تروي الأمم قصصها؟"

وتشمل الاهتمامات البحثية للدكتور كيك مجالات التاريخ الثقافي البريطاني، وتطور القوة الناعمة البريطانية، والتدخل البريطاني في جنوب شرق آسيا. ويعمل حالياً على إعداد مخطوطة تحمل عنوان: "الحاجة للعرض: جون روسكين والمتحف". كما قام الدكتور كيك بنشر عدد من المقالات، وكتابين حملا العنوانين: "بورما البريطانية في القرن الجديد 1895-1918"، و"السير آرثر هيلبس وصناعة الفيكتورية". كما شارك الدكتور لي كيك بتحرير مجلد بعنوان "التعليم العالي الغربي في آسيا والشرق الأوسط: السياسة والاقتصاد والتربية".

وفي الفترة من 2015-2018 عمل الدكتور كيك كمدير للإدارة الأكاديمية في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، ومدير إدارة الدراسات الدولية في جامعة الشارقة 2007-2014. وقبل الانتقال إلى دولة الإمارات في العام 2006، عمل الدكتور كيك في جامعة سنغافورة الوطنية في سنغافورة وكلية تشارلستون، في ولاية كارولاينا الجنوبية في الولايات المتحدة.

Dr Stephen L. Keck

Professor of History

Dr. Stephen Lee Keck is Professor of History at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy (EDA). His courses explore modern global history: recently these have focused on Leadership in 20th Century Europe, the Rise of China as a Global Superpower and the End of the Ottoman Empire. In 2020-2021 Dr. Keck will offer two new courses: ‘Diseases, Disasters and Diplomacy,’ as well as ‘Cultural Diplomacy: How Nations Tell Their Stories.’

Dr. Keck’s research interests concentrate on British cultural history, the development of British ‘Soft Power’ and the British Empire’s engagement with Southeast Asia. He is currently working on a manuscript entitled The Need to Exhibit: John Ruskin and the Museum. Keck has published a healthy number of articles and two books: British Burma in the New Century, 1895-1918 and Sir Arthur Helps and the Making of Victorianism. In addition, he co-edited the anthology Western Higher Education in Asia and the Middle East: Politics, Economics, and Pedagogy.

Professor Keck served as EDA’s Academic Director (2015-2018) and Head of the Department of International Studies at American University of Sharjah (2007-2014). Prior to coming to the UAE in 2006, Dr. Keck taught at the National University of Singapore and the College of Charleston, South Carolina, US.