ماجستير الآداب في الدبلوماسية والعلاقات الدولية

نظرة عامة

تم إطلاق برنامج ماجستير الآداب في الدبلوماسية والعلاقات الدولية بشهر أكتوبر 2017 كبرنامج إضافي للطلاب الذين أكملوا بنجاح برنامج دبلوم الدراسات العليا في الأكاديمية باختصاص الدبلوماسية الإماراتية والعلاقات الدولية. وسيتمكن الطلاب عبر برنامج الماجستير من تعزيز مهاراتهم ومعارفهم التي اكتسبوها في برنامج الدبلوم حول القضايا الإقليمية والدولية، وخاصة تلك المتعلقة بالإمارات والشرق الأوسط ككل. إن ماجستير الآداب في الدبلوماسية والعلاقات الدولية برنامج معتمد ومستمر يتضمن محاضرات تنعقد مرة واحدة في الأسبوع لكل دورة. وبإمكان الطلاب الذين يلتزمون بدوام كامل أن يكملوا الماجستير في سنة دراسية واحدة. كما يمكن للطلاب اختيار التسجيل بدوام جزئي لكن في هذه الحالة قد يستغرق البرنامج عامين أكاديميين لإكماله.

منهاج الماجستير

يتيح برنامج ماجستير الآداب في الدبلوماسية والعلاقات الدولية للطلاب إتمام 12 ساعة دراسية عبر طريقتين:

المسار الأول: التسجيل بأربعة مساقات واجتياز الامتحان الشامل في نهاية العام الدراسي بنجاح، أو

المسار الثاني: التسجيل بمساقين وإنهاء أطروحة ماجستير

يجب أن يحافظ الطلاب على معدل تراكمي يبلغ 3.0 للتخرج من البرنامج.

المسار الأول

يتكون هذا المسار من 4 مقررات اختيارية (12 ساعة معتمدة، أو 3 ساعات معتمدة لكل مقرر). في جميع هذه المواد الاختيارية، على الطلاب استكمال ورقة بحثية تتطلب مساهمة أصلية كبيرة منهم. في حين أن متطلبات الدورات الفردية قد تختلف، يجب على الطلاب كتابة ورقة بحثية ما بين 6000 و10000 كلمة. وفي حال اختار الطالب المسار الأول، سيتوجب عليه اجتياز الامتحان الشامل الشفوي والكتابي في نهاية العام الدراسي بنجاح لإكمال برنامج الماجستير.

المسار الثاني 

يتكون هذا المسار من 2 من المقررات الاختيارية (6 ساعات معتمدة) وأطروحة ماجستير (6 ساعات معتمدة) ينبغي إكمالها خلال فصلين دراسيين تحت إشراف أحد أعضاء الهيئة التدريسية في الأكاديمية. يتأهل الطلبة الحاصلون على معدل تراكمي لا يقل عن 3.6 في برنامج دبلوم الدراسات العليا لاختيار المسار الثاني. وفي نهاية العام الدراسي، على الطالب أن يدافع عن أطروحته شفهياً أمام لجنة متخصصة مكونة من ثلاثة أعضاء، أحدهم (على الأقل) من غير العاملين في الأكاديمية، والحصول على درجة لا تقل عن B.

قائمة الدورات

  • مواضيع مختارة في الدبلوماسية والعلاقات الدولية

    مستوى إشرافي

  • السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

    مستوى إشرافي

  • توجهات السياسة الخارجية والسياسة الأمنية الأوروبية تجاه الشرق الأوسط

    مستوى إشرافي

  • السياسة الخارجية والإرهاب الدولي

    مستوى إشرافي

  • عملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط

    مستوى إشرافي

المخرجات والنتائج العلمية المتوقعة من الالتحاق ببرنامج ماجستير الآداب في الدبلوماسية والعلاقات الدولية:


المعرفة الدبلوماسية المتخصصة على المستوى الإقليمي والدولي:

عند إتمام البرنامج بنجاح، سوف يكتسب الطلاب فهماً قوياً ومتقدماً للسياسات والأحداث والممارسات الحالية والتاريخية التي هي محور المصالح الوطنية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط، وسيمتلك الطلبة القدرة على التقييم النقدي وتحليل القضايا العالمية والإقليمية المتعلقة بدراسة العلاقات الدولية والسياسة الخارجية.

مهارات البحث والتفكير النقدي:

سيظهر الطلاب قدرة قوية على إجراء مشاريع البحوث الفردية و / أو مشاريع (أطروحة) واسعة النطاق بنجاح. وسيستخدم الطلاب أدوات بحثية متطورة أثناء التحقيق في القضايا المعقدة المتعلقة بالدبلوماسية والسياسة الخارجية والعلاقات الدولية من خلال دراسة تحاليل نقدية لمجموعة من المصادر، ليتمكنوا من كتابة أوراق بحثية موضوعية وتحليلية.

التواصل واللغة:

سيطور الطلاب مهاراتهم اللغوية ومهارات الاتصال (كتابة وشفوياً)، وبشكل خاص في بحوثهم المتقدمة.

Master of Arts in Diplomacy and International Relations

Overview

The Master of Arts (MA) in Diplomacy and International Relations was launched in October 2017 as an additional programme for students who have completed the EDA’s Post-Graduate Diploma in UAE Diplomacy and International Relations. Students build on and solidify the knowledge gained  on global and regional issues in the PGD, particularly those relevant to the UAE and the wider Middle East. It is an accredited programme with classes held once a week for each course. Full-time students can expect to finish the MA in one academic year. Students can also opt to enrol on a part-time basis and may take two academic years to complete the programme. 

Curriculum

The MA in Diplomacy and International Relations offers students two ways to achieve 12 credits:

Track One: Taking four courses and passing a comprehensive exam at the end of the academic year, or

Track Two: Taking two courses and completing an MA thesis.

Students must maintain a GPA of 3.0 to graduate. 

Track One

This track consists of four elective courses with three credits each (12 in total). In each elective, students will complete a research paper that necessitates a substantial original contribution on their part. While the requirements for the individual courses may vary, students should expect to write a paper between 6,000 and 10,000 words for each class. Students who opt for Track One are required to pass an oral and written comprehensive exam at the end of the academic year to successfully complete the MA programme. 

Track Two

Consisting of two elective courses (six credits) and an MA thesis (six credits) to be completed over two semesters under the supervision of an EDA faculty member, this track is available to students who have scored a GPA of 3.6 and above in the Post-Graduate Diploma (PGD) programme. At the end of the academic year, the students will have to defend the thesis orally with a grade of no less than B to a committee of three, which should include at least one member external to EDA. 

Course Catalogue

  • The Middle East Peace Process

    Supervisory Level

  • Select Topics in International Relations and Diplomacy

    Supervisory Level

  • Foreign Policy and Extremism/Terrorism

    Supervisory Level

  • Trends in European Foreign and Security Policy towards the Middle East

    Supervisory Level

  • American Foreign Policy in the Middle East

    Supervisory Level

The skills our MA Students acquire:

Global and Regional Specialised Knowledge:

Graduates will acquire a strong and advanced understanding of current and historical policies, events and practices that are central to the national interests of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the Middle East region and will be able to critically evaluate and analyze global and regional issues related to the study of international relations and foreign policy.

Research and Critical Thinking:

Graduates will demonstrate a strong capacity to successfully conduct individual research projects and/or an extensive thesis project. Students will use advanced research tools while investigating complex issues related to diplomacy, foreign policy and international relations by critically examining a range of sources to produce substantive and analytical research papers.

Communication and Language:

Graduates will exhibit a high standard for the written and oral exposition of their research.