الدكتور ستيفن لي كيك
المدير الأكاديمي

الدكتور ستيفن لي كيك هو المدير الأكاديمي وأستاذ التاريخ في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، أبو ظبي. وقبل توليه منصب المدير الأكاديمي، عمل الدكتور كيك بالتدريس في الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة و جامعة سنغافورة الوطنية وكلية تشارلستون (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية). وإلى جانب قيامه بمهام المدير الأكاديمي في أكاديمية الإمارات، يقوم الدكتور ستيفن بتدريس مادة 'من الامبراطوريات إلى الأمم: إعادة صنع النظام الحكومي الدولي في القرن العشرين، 1914-1991 ".

من أحدث مؤلفاته " بورما البريطانية في القرن الجديد، 1895-1918 (2015)"، وصدر له قبل ذلك كتاب "السير آرثر هيلبس وصناعة الفيكتورية". وهو يشارك في تحرير مجلد سيصدر قريباً بعنوان: السياسة والاقتصاد والتربية في التعليم العالي الغربي في آسيا والشرق الأوسط. وهو يعمل حالياً على دراسة الفكر التاريخي لجون روسكين. وتشمل اهتماماته البحثية الأخرى تدخل بريطانيا في جنوب شرق آسيا، والدبلوماسية الثقافية في الامبراطورية البريطانية 1850-1950، والمواجهات الفيكتورية والإدواردية مع الإمبراطورية العثمانية. خارج الفصول الدراسية، يشارك الدكتور كيك في برامج المناظرات حول التاريخ على قناة دبي آي الإذاعية 103.8.

 

 

الدكتور مرهف جويجاتي

يعمل الدكتور مرهف جويجاتي أستاذاً للعلاقات الدولية في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية في أبوظبي. وهو خبير في الشؤون السياسية للشرق الأوسط مع التركيز على بلاد الشام على وجه الخصوص، وباحث في معهد الشرق الأوسط في واشنطن دي سي، وهو أيضاً رئيس مجلس إدارة جمعية "اليوم التالي".

حتى وقت قريب، كان الدكتور جويجاتي يعمل أستاذاً لدراسات الشرق الأوسط في مركز الشرق الأدنى وجنوب آسيا للدراسات الاستراتيجية (NESA) التابع لجامعة الدفاع الوطني في واشنطن. وقد اشتغل بالتدريس في جامعة جورج واشنطن والجامعة الأمريكية في واشنطن دي سي. كما شغل منصب مدير برنامج دراسات الشرق الأوسط في كلية إليوت في جامعة جورج واشنطن. وقبل ذلك، عمل مستشاراً لبعثة المفوضية الأوروبية في دمشق، ومستشاراً للوفد السوري خلال محادثات السلام بين سوريا وإسرائيل، ومستشاراً لمكتب الدول العربية التابع لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي في نيويورك. وشغل قبل ذلك منصب مدير برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي في سوريا.

الدكتور جويجاتي لديه الكثير من الأبحاث عن السياسة في الشرق الأوسط ويستضاف كثيراً على وسائل الإعلام الدولية. وقد قدم شهادة خبير أمام لجنة 11 سبتمبر وأمام لجنة العلاقات الخارجية التابعة لمجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي في عدة مناسبات. يحمل الدكتور جويجاتي درجة الدكتوراه في العلاقات الدولية من جامعة ولاية أوتاه والماجستير في دراسات المنطقة العربية من جامعة جورج تاون.

 

الدكتور محمد عليمات

الدكتور محمد عليمات أستاذ مشارك في العلاقات الدولية وسياسات الشرق الأوسط في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية بأبو ظبي. وقد عمل قبل انضمامه إلى الأكاديمية، في كل من جامعة خليفة، وجامعة ساوث فلوريدا في سانت بطرسبرغ، وجامعة ولاية ميسوري، والعديد من المؤسسات الأكاديمية الأخرى في أمريكا والشرق الأوسط. وتتركز خبراته في مجال دراسات الشرق الأوسط، والسياسة الخارجية الأمريكية تجاه منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، وعلاقات الصين بالشرق الأوسط الكبير.

وهو مؤلف لخمسة كتب، إلى جانب العديد من فصول الكتب ومقالات عن السياسة في الشرق الأوسط، والاقتصاد السياسي للشرق الأوسط، والتطور السياسي في الشرق الأوسط وعلاقات الصين بالشرق الأوسط الكبير. أحدث مؤلفاته كتاب بعنوان "الصين وآسيا الوسطى في عصر ما بعد انهيار الاتحاد السوفيتي"، صدر في عام 2015. وله كتاب جديد بعنوان "الصين ودول الخليج العربي: شراكة استراتيجية في عالم متغير" سيصدر في شهر أكتوبر 2016.

 

الدكتورة/ نورة صابر المزروعي

 

الدكتورة نورة المزروعي أستاذ مساعد في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية في أبو ظبي، وأستاذ مساعد في كلية آداب وعلوم الاستدامة والعلوم الإنسانية في جامعة زايد. ومن بين المواد التي تُدَرَّسها للطلاب مقررات عن تاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وثقافتها، وتاريخ دول منطقة الخليج العربي، وتاريخ العرب في الأندلس والعلاقات الدولية لمنطقة الخليج.

حصلت الدكتورة نورة المزروعي على درجة الدكتوراه في دراسات منطقة الخليج من معهد الدراسات العربية والإسلامية (2014) في جامعة اكستر بالمملكة المتحدة. وهي تتخصص في موضوعات التاريخ الحديث ومنها تاريخ منطقة الخليج والعلاقات الدولية الخاصة بها، والنزاعات على الحدود الإقليمية في منطقة الخليج عموماً والنزاعات التي تكون دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة طرفاً فيها خصوصاً.

ومن بين مؤلفات الدكتورة نورة المزروعي كتاب والعديد من المقالات التي نُشِرت في عدِة صحف ومنها "الجزر الثلاث المتنازع عليها بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإيران: أبو موسى، وطنب الكبرى، وطنب الصغرى في مضيق هرمز" و"المفاوضات على الحدود الإقليمية بين أبو ظبي والمملكة العربية السعودية في 1970-1971" و "نهاية الهيمنة البريطانية في منطقة الخليج" و"ملكية خور العديد ومنطقة العين / البريمي في القرن التاسع عشر" وورقة بحثية مشتركة مع الدكتور خالد المزيني بعنوان " ما بعد النزاعات الحدودية بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وعُمان: التداعيات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية (لم تُنشَّر بعد). كما قامت الدكتورة نورة المزروعي بإعداد دراسة حالة عن النظام التعليمي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وشاركت في العديد من المؤتمرات والندوات الدولية بإلقاء كلمات عن موضوعات متنوعة في منطقة الخليج في مدن كثيرة منها كامبريدج، ولندن، والدوحة، وأبو ظبي، وواشنطن. وتعكف الدكتورة نورة حالياً على تأليف كتاب بعنوان "المملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة: النزاعات الحدودية والعلاقات الدولية في منطقة الخليج"

 

الدكتورة سارة شهاب

الدكتور سارة شهاب أستاذ مساعد في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، تقدم دورات في الاقتصاد الدولي والاقتصاد السياسي، وسياسة الطاقة، والدول النامية، وهي متخصصة في العلوم السياسية والعلاقات الدولية.

قبل انضمامها للأكاديمية، عملت سارة شهاب أستاذاً مساعداً في جامعة زايد دبي، وحازت على جائزة التميز في التدريس من الجامعة في العام 2014. تشمل أعمالها المنشورة العديد من الكتب وغيرها من المواد حول موضوعات مثل "سياسة الولايات المتحدة الخارجية ومواصلة العمل لمواجهة مناهضي الأمركة" و"الشبكات الاجتماعية والأخبار: حالة المرأة الإماراتية في دبي".

نالت سارة شهادة الدكتوراه في العلوم السياسية والعلاقات الدولية من جامعة ولاية ديلاوير. كما تحمل شهادة الماجستير في العلوم السياسية والعلاقات الدولية من الجامعة نفسها، وكذلك درجة البكالوريوس بامتياز في الشؤون الدولية والدبلوماسية من الجامعة اللبنانية الأميركية في لبنان

 

 

الدكتور فيكتور جيرفايس

الدكتور فيكتور جيرفيه أستاذ مساعد في أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية في أبوظبي. وقبل انضمامه للأكاديمية عمل أستاذاً مساعداً في معهد الأمن الدولي والمدني في جامعة خليفة، وباحثاً زائراً في مركز الإمارات للدراسات والبحوث الاستراتيجية، كما سبق له العمل كباحث لبرنامج الكويت في العلوم السياسية وكزميل ما بعد الدكتوراه في معهد البحوث الاستراتيجية العسكرية في باريس.

حصل الدكتور فيكتور على درجة الدكتوراه في العام 2011 من معهد العلوم السياسية، وقد ركزت أطروحة الدكتوراه على تطوير القوات المسلحة الإماراتية، فيما يتعلق باستراتيجيات أبوظبي لبناء الدولة. وتتركز اهتماماته البحثية الرئيسية في العلاقات الدولية في الشرق الأوسط، مع اهتمام خاص بالسياسات الأمنية والدفاعية لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وتتنوع مؤلفاته ما بين الكتب الأكاديمية وفصول الكتب والمقالات وملخصات السياسات والتقارير.

Dr. Stephen Lee Keck
Director Of Education

Dr. Stephen Lee Keck is the Academic Director and Professor of History at Emirates Diplomatic Academy(EDA), Abu Dhabi. Before assuming the role of Academic Director, Dr. Keck taught at the American University of Sharjah. He has also been with the National University of Singapore and the College of Charleston (USA). At EDA, Dr. Keck teaches ‘Empires to Nations: Remaking the International State System in the 20th Century, 1914-1991’.

Dr. Keck has just published British Burma in the New Century, 1895-1918 (2015), and earlier Sir Arthur Helps and the Making of Victorianism (2013). Dr. Keck is co-editing a forthcoming volume titled Eastward Bound: The Politics, Economics and Pedagogy of Western Higher Education in Asia and the Middle East. He is currently working on a study of John Ruskin’s historical thought. His other research interests are focused on Britain’s engagement with Southeast Asia, cultural diplomacy in the British empire 1850-1950 and Victorian and Edwardian encounters with the Ottoman Empire. Beyond the classroom, Dr. Keck enjoys co-hosting programmes on history as a guest on Dubai Eye 103.8.

 

 

Dr. Murhaf Jouejati

Dr. Murhaf Jouejati is Professor of International Relations at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy (EDA), Abu Dhabi. An expert on Middle East political affairs focusing on the Levant politics in particular, he is a scholar at the Middle East Institute in Washington D.C. He is also the Chairman of ‘The Day After’ association.

Until recently, Dr. Jouejati was a Professor of Middle East Studies at the National Defense University’s NESA Center for Strategic Studies in Washington. In addition, he taught at The George Washington University (GWU) and at the American University in Washington D.C. Dr. Jouejati served as the Director of the Middle East Studies Program at GWU’s Elliott School. Prior to that, he was advisor to the European Commission Delegation in Damascus; to the Syrian delegation during the Syria-Israel peace talks; and to the United Nations Development Program’s (UNDP) Bureau of Arab States in New York. Earlier, he served at the UNDP’s National Program Officer for Syria.

Dr. Jouejati is a prolific writer on Middle East politics and a frequent guest in the international media. He provided expert testimony before the 9/11 Commission and the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee on several occasions. Dr. Jouejati holds a Ph.D. in International Relations from the University of Utah and a Master’s in Arab area studies from Georgetown University.

 

Dr. Muhamad S. Olimat

Dr. Muhamad Olimat is an Associate Professor of International Relations and Middle East Politics at Emirates Diplomatic Academy (EDA), Abu Dhabi. Prior to joining EDA, he taught at Khalifa University, University of South Florida in St. Petersburg, Missouri State University, and other American and Middle Eastern academic institutions. His area of expertise is Middle East Studies, US foreign policy toward the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) and China-Greater Middle Eastern relations.

He is the author of five books, several book chapters, and articles on Middle East politics, the political economy of the Middle East, political development of the Middle East and Sino-Greater Middle Eastern relations. His most recent manuscript is ‘China and Central Asia in Post-Soviet Era: A Bilateral Approach’, published in 2015. His upcoming book, ‘China and the Arab Gulf Countries: Strategic Partnership in a Changing World’ will be released in October 2016.

 

 Dr. Noura S. Al-Mazrouei

 

Dr. Noura S. Al-Mazrouei is an Assistant Professor at Emirates Diplomatic Academy(EDA), Abu Dhabi, and an Assistant Professor in the College of Sustainability Sciences and Humanities of Zayed University. She teaches courses on History and Culture of the UAE, History of the Arabian Gulf States, History of the Arab in Andalus and the International Relations of the Gulf.

Dr. Al-Mazrouei received her Ph.D. in Gulf Studies at Institute of Arab and Islamic Studies (2014) from the University of Exeter, UK. Her specific academic focus is on History, International Relations of the Gulf and territorial disputes in the Gulf, particularly those involving the UAE.

Dr. Al-Mazrouei is also the author of a book and journal articles such as the ‘The Three Disputed Islands between UAE and Iran: Abu Musa, Greater and Lesser Tunbs in the Strait of Hormuz’, ‘The Abu Dhabi-Saudi Arabia Territorial Negotiations (1970-71): The End of the Britain’s Dominance in the Gulf’, ‘The Ownership of Khor al-Udaid and Al-Ain/ Buraimi Region in the 19th Century’ and joint paper with Dr. Khalid Almezaini ‘Post UAE-Oman Border Dispute: Social and Economic Implication (forthcoming),. She has also done a case study and on education system in the UAE. Al-Mazrouei participated in international conferences to give a speech on different Gulf issues in Cambridge, London, Doha, Abu Dhabi and Washington U.S. She is currently working on a book titled ‘Saudi Arabia and the UAE: Border Disputes and International Relations in the Gulf’.

 

 

Dr. Sara J. Chehab

Dr. Sara Chehab is an Assistant Professor at Emirates Diplomatic Academy(EDA), Abu Dhabi, delivering courses on International Economics, Political Economy, Energy Politics, and Fragile and Recovering States. She specializes in Political Science and International Relations.

Prior to this role, she was an Assistant Professor at Zayed University (ZU) in Dubai, and was the recipient of the Excellence in Teaching Award from the university in 2014. Her published works include books and other articles in which she has shared her expertise on topics like ‘US Foreign Policy and the Continuing Struggle Against Anti- Americanism’ and ‘Social Networks and News: The Case of Emirati Women in Dubai’.

Dr. Chehab completed her PhD in Political Science and International Relations from the University of Delaware. She also holds a Master’s in Political Science and International Relations from the same university as well as a Bachelor’s degree with Distinction in International Affairs and Diplomacy from the Lebanese American University (LAU) in Lebanon.

 

 

Dr. Victor Gervais

Dr. Victor Gervais is an Assistant Professor at the Emirates Diplomatic Academy (EDA), Abu Dhabi. Prior to joining the EDA, he was assistant professor at the Institute of International and Civil Security at Khalifa University and visiting researcher at the Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research (ECSSR), Abu Dhabi. Dr. Gervais has also worked as a researcher for the Kuwait Program at Sciences Po and as a post-doctoral fellow at the Institut de Recherche Strategique de l’Ecole Militaire in Paris.

He received his PhD in 2011 from Sciences Po. His doctoral thesis focused on the development of the UAE armed forces, in relation to Abu Dhabi’s state-building strategies. His main research interests are on the international relations of the Middle East, with a particular interest in GCC states’ security and defence policies. His publications range from academic books, book chapters and peer-reviewed articles to policy briefs and reports.